Most recently posted IBT testimonials

Menopause hot flashes / flushes and sinus issues

Caroline-Renae Alexander  It has been about three months....still loving the way I can breathe through my nose, the way my hot flashes totally disappeared, and the vivid dreams are simply bonus. I feel absolutely blessed. I have had such struggles to find work, and then God sent me this miracle to help me keep my faith. Thank-you Andrew. I have a Science degree and an Education degree and was asked to "vet" the claims of IBT....within three days, I had my bed raised even prior to that of my friend who made the request. Makes me wonder what else we don't know....right?!

 I just stayed overnight at a cottage and had two hot flashes on a flat bed....coincidence? Will tell tonight back at my inclined bed.....cheers -C

Definite benefits re hot flashes. As much as I love going outside to look at the midnight sky and cool down, the lack of sleep over time is a form of torture. Back to my IBT again and sleeping very well indeed!


An important element, you or someone else had noted, is attention to humidity. We live on an island on the West Coast of Canada, so now more than ever, the dehumidifier is important to our health as related to IBT and how the process works more efficiently.

Caroline Alexander
Posted Date : 16-04-2018

Asthma, snoring, migraine, nocturia IBT since 2012

IBT since 2012 IBT since 2012 
Five years ago (Jan 2012) I was desperate to find a way to alleviate the problems I had with wheezing /whistling while breathing, especially when I went to bed. This problem always started with me getting a cold or flu that didn’t pass. A couple of times it went on for months, and it affected my overall health since I couldn’t sleep sufficiently. I went to the doctor’s office who stated that this was probably asthma and to prevent this I was to inhale daily doses of cortisone.

Since I was used to trying out alternative solutions for ailments and such (nowadays they call it biohacking), I decided to search the internet for anything that could help me improve my breathing and avoiding taking cortisone. I found Andrew’s site about IBT, and also a couple of posts elsewhere about asthma being improved through inclining the bed.
The next night I wedged my side of the bed with pillows underneath the mattress and my partner slept on the sofa, since we were both having the flu and I was wheezing. He told me that I hadn’t snored at all that night (we both do occasionally snore, but he’s a light sleeper and gets very easily disturbed). I usually woke up with aching feet and feeling stiff, like I was 80 not 40, but this morning there was no pain. I continued to surf the internet after solutions to raise the bed instead of using the pillows and I asked my partner if he wanted to try it and even if he was a bit suspicious he said he would give it a go.
I used big cardboard boxes and duct tape, since I had nothing else to use. I cut them, assembled them, and raised the feet under the headboard (5 cm). The next day my partner said he’d slept very well and he stopped snoring. He usually went up once at night to go to the bathroom, but that stopped immediately. After a week or so the bed was raised 10 cm, and after two weeks at 17,5 cm.
We have continued sleeping on the incline since then we’ll continue to do so. Some of the changes:
- I very seldom have problems sleeping due to wheezing. The cold/flu-induced asthma has never come back in the same manner after the bed was inclined.- I used to wake up feeling cold and stiff, but that has disappeared altogether. Mostly I feel supple getting up from bed.- I often had migraines and had to stay in bed for a couple of days, the only thing that really helped was sleeping the migraines away. I still get headaches from time to time, but painkillers do help me now.- When we started IBT my partner was a long distance runner. After a 2-3 hour run, he came home and did some stretching, showered, and then went to bed watching a movie and snacking while recuperating. We both did this after a hard workout and called it “IBT-ing”.- I had problems with water retention, today I know I’ll be swollen due to things I eat, but it’s not a chronic condition.
IBT is not my only solution – but it is a very important part of my health regimen. I can’t see anything but benefits to improving and maintaining a good circulation. I know that every time I get to bed my body will regenerate and I see this as an investment for the years to come (I started this at age 43).
Thank you, Andrew for providing us with the information and knowledge.Chimelle

Chimelle
Posted Date : 27-03-2018

Susac's Syndrome, nocturia, swollen veins, Stroke

Zsaire GableI do a great deal of online research as I have some health challenges.

I had two strokes in 2016. I had been for a complete physical in 2015 in the fall and apart from being over tired and run down from my work schedule I was told I was in great health. Fast forward 6 months and I had 2 strokes! I was shocked. They never found the source of the embolus. I had a CAT scan followed a few months later by an MRI.

I was told I have a autoimmune disease called Susac's Syndrome. They wanted to experiment on me with "therapies" I was hesitant to embark on.

Anyway, being the avid researcher and prime guinea pig for my findings I thought it can't hurt and can only help!

I jumped in with both feet and used bricks under the box spring of my matress as well as under the feet at the foot end of my bed. I was told not to sleep with your head next to a wall where there are wires with live current running through them as the EMF from the wires interfere's with your brains natural rhythms. I did it and immediately ceased voiding more than 2 X a nite. I was up and down and up and down so many times previous to that it seemed sometimes like all I did was get up to use the batrhoom.

That was greatly reduced in some cases depending on what I ate to 1X a nite! Aaaahhhhhh peace finally. I also noticed my need for sleep diminished from about 8 hours to 6 in some cases.

Generally I don't have any aches and pains nor did I before using IBT.

One HUGE thing I did notice however was when I used to wake up the veins on the top sides of my feet as well as in my thighs used to be much harder and stuck out more prominently than they do now.

That shows that the heart isn't working as hard during your sleep cycle.

I am just finished school for a Nurse Aid course and may go ahead and get more medical training.

The results were astounding and I would encourage anyone to give it a try! It certainly won't harm you, and may if nothing else reduce your bathroom trips. I am not a doctor and this is not medical advice just my own interpretation based on my experience.

Zsaire Gable
Regina
Saskatchewan
Canada 

Posted Date : 27-03-2018

Blood pressure improvements over 22 months of IBT

Comment from Youtube video.


My wife and I have been sleeping on an inclined bed (8 inches)about 22 months. During this time my blood pressure has dropped from 160/90 to 130/65 (Ave) with the same dose of 50 mg Atenolol. I no longer snore nor have sleep apnea attacks. After many years of taking Flonase for sinusitis I discontinued the medication 6 months ago with little or no sinus problems now. Night time urination has decreased from half dozen times to once a night. I am 82.

Oldsharkie
Posted Date : 23-03-2018

Wow! - It's Excellent! :)

This is obviously going to be an On-going Story! -- But here's the great 'Start' ...... so, "Watch this space" ..Yay!  :)   :)   

 My Puffy feet still 'went-down FLAT - even though on a 'downhill-slope' of my wonderful Raised-Bed!!   -- NO-more sleeping-like a banana! - and now, even during the daytime, my feet are far-LESS inclined to Puff-up!!  :)   --- I LOVE this totally-simple, AND Totally-FREE Therapy!!  :)  

THANK-YOU so, SO Much!! - Andrew Fletcher!! -- You deserve the Nobel Peace Price for this "Great-Work" for the far-Betterment and Great Health of the whole of Humanity!!...We just need to ALL work-together... to spread this Good-Word!!!  :)  -- I'm also watching my Varicose Veins, to see how long before they go-down! -- May take some time, I guess. 

I'm ALSO working-with a very precious, and Special person, to get their Bed-Inclined....to stop their long, long-standing suffering from Seizures!!! ----  I'll get back to you when we get some definite, good-results!! ..... So, Watch this space!! -- I have every hope, - and they are VERY interested!! -- only certain 'other' factors need to be overcome!!  :)     

 

 

Jennifer A. Gates
RUSSELL, Bay Of Islands,
Northland.
New Zealand 

Posted Date : 22-03-2018

Video Update: Our great benefits!

Zamar and Judah, along with Zamar's mom have been sleeping slanted (IBT) for a few months now.  This is the second video and an update to our first.  Our most obvious benefits include gastric reflux, lower back pain, better sleep.  See our video update if you wish! Our testimonial on Youtube

no

Zamar & Judah
Coffee & Kvetch with Zamar (YT)
Posted Date : 07-03-2018

Numerous ailments, pre diabetes, hypothyroidism, adrenal exhaustion,

Was suffering from the effects of pre-diabetes, adrenal exhaustion, hypothyroidism and who knows what else.  I read about IBT late one night.  I had raised bed posts under each corner of my bed.  I was thrilled when I removed the two at the end of the bed, measured the incline and discovered I had achieved the correct amount of incline.

I immediately felt a strange but good feeling lying in bed that night.  It felt odd but somehow good.  Every night I enjoy going to bed because if feels so good.  No more aches and pains in my hips and legs, no more frequent interruptions during the night to visit the bathroom, my feet don't hurt like they used to after taking walks, etc.  The longer I sleep like this (over 6 weeks now) I find myself waking up after having slept straight through the night and feeling better.  I'm glad I was adventurous enough to try this.  It's been worth it! I can't wait to see what else improves in the months ahead.

 

C.D. Weaver
Dixon
California
Posted Date : 05-03-2018

Consumer (Senior Woman)

This is my Mom's and my testimonal early on using IBT:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4PinCtBlMOc

no

Zamar
United States 

Posted Date : 28-02-2018

Arachnoiditis and neuropathic pain improvements using Inclined Bed Therapy

Original question: What's IBT, never heard of the abbreviation ???'


IBT stands for Inclined Bed Therapy. It was discovered by medical researcher and engineer, Andrew K Fletcher and back in the 1990s. However, his idea was dismissed simply because it appears to fly in the face of the previous beliefs on the part of the medical text books about how the circulatory system works. Andrew discovered that, instead of the heart being solely responsible for pumping our blood around the system, gravity also played a vital part, and especially in removing toxins and solutes from the blood, and removing these from the body via the kidneys and urine. 

For a long time, I have had problems with varicose veins and oedema, and periodic bouts of phlebitis, so when, a few months ago, I discovered a study was being done on The Naked Scientists forum - see this link: Varicose Veins & IBT Study - I followed some of the links shown there, and realised that this could also help a long term back problem that I have, and other conditions, too. 

Andrew agreed that I could join in the study group, and I spoke with my doctor about it too. My doctor said he couldn't see any reason why I shouldn't join in, but to expect my oedema and varicose veins to get worse! This because instead of raising the legs, one sleeps at a 5 degree angle and with the legs lower than the head. Well, he was astonished to see the difference himself, because my oedema disappeared within days! My calves were measured prior to commencing IBT and after, and they reduced in size by as much as 5cms - about 2.5"! 

I also started to get decent quality, restorative sleep almost immediately, which is something I've not experienced for years! Indeed, due to my back problem, and a natural chemical reaction that it seems to cause when flaring, very often I would go for days or even weeks at a time without any sleep at all, or just brief periods of dozing, and when in a sitting position, because often the back would not even allow me to assume a prone position. 

Other benefits include a lowering of blood pressure - and a friend (aged 58 and in Wales) who was recently told by his doctor that his BP was so dangerously high that he could die at any moment, commenced IBT and with almost immediate benefits! His BP, and without medication, has now reduced consistently to a range between 130/75 and 120/70, and sometimes as low as 110/65! His doctor was stunned by this result! 

Now that I have been doing IBT for a couple of months, I am beginning to notice improvements in my back problem. This I was told likely wouldn't be noticeable for four to eight months, and mainly because there are two conditions that affect my spine. In the lumbar region, I have osteoarthritis, and there I have noticed a lessening of the pain in that region. In fact, sometimes I realise I don't even have that dull ache that never seemed to go away at all! Higher up, and in the thoracic region, I've been affected by periods of severe inflammation and pain, including severe muscle spasms (like electric shocks) that can sometimes have a paralysing effect and make breathing difficult and also affects the use of my hands and arms. After many years, that has finally been diagnosed as arachnoiditis, and after those medically qualified people following the IBT trial recognised the symptoms and alerted me to mention it to my doctor, when all the pointers over the years suddenly fell into place! Whatever, there has definitely been a lessening of the incidents of inflammation and therefore muscle spasms and their strength since commencing IBT. (Also my need to take medication to address these!) I have also started to lose some weight at last, and had been really struggling to do that for years, and largely because I wasn't able to exercise much at all - and now I can (to some degree) and without aggravating the back! 

There are lots of conditions that IBT can help to improve, and quality of life is not the least amongst them! The best of it is, it is virtually free! Raising the head end of the bed just 6" can be achieved with a couple of breeze blocks - even recycled ones! In my case, and because of the type of legs on my bed-settee, I chose to have wooden blocks made with a hollowed out section in them that would hold the bed's legs securely in place, and those cost me just £30! A price well worth paying for the improvement in my sleep quality alone, and because now I have energy again, and feel really quite well! (This even despite undergoing chemotherapy for breast cancer during much of the time I've been doing the IBT trial!) 

If you think it could help you, why not just try it? Beg a couple of old breeze blocks from a builder, wrap them in old towels to protect you carpet or flooring, and raise the HEAD end of your bed by 6". Do make sure that you drink plenty of fluids too, and so that you don't become dehydrated as the solutes and toxins are removed from your body. IBT provides quite a powerful detox to the system and you may well find yourself popping to the bathroom on a more regular basis. If you find yourself slipping down the bed a bit, wrap an extra duvet around the mattress and under the sheet to provide some extra comfort and friction, also don't sleep in pants that could cut into the groin a bit, and do remove any footboard from the bed to avoid pressure on the feet. You can always add a throw over the end of the bed to keep your feet warm if the poke out a bit, but one thing I have really noticed, is that my previously cold feet (due to poor circulation) are now like toast! 

There are a huge number of medical conditions that can benefit from IBT, including heart conditions, sleep apnoea, breathing problems, spinal problems, arthritis, MS, circulatory problems, skin conditions, and so on. 

So far the only person amongst those friends whom I've recommended it to to complain about its benefits, is a chap who has suddenly started getting early morning erections on a regular basis, and after years of having a problem in that department!  Others that have discovered this same thing don't see to consider it a problem at all - at least, not one they cannot deal with!  In fact, it's been quite a handy thing when it comes to couples where the wife may have had leg problems and the husband being reluctant to raise their bed just for his wife's benefit! Fit people trying it, have noticed that they wake feeling more refreshed and energetic, and young, fit couples, tell me that yes, it does seem to improve their love lives too! (Well, haven't the Welsh always been a passionate race?

This discussion is related to Arachnoiditis.

My Question is: Could more people with arachnoiditis, a horrendous condition often induced by injections into the spine benefit from using IBT ? I know of one other case that has shown a positive response to this therapy making it two people with arachnoiditis that are managing pain and spasm more effectively. Andrew


This discussion is related to Arachnoiditis.

Old Dragon
United Kingdom 

Posted Date : 23-02-2018

Chronic Head Pain

In 1976 I had a serious head injury.  It resulted in more than 30 years of almost daily head pain. Then, sometime around 2008, I had to raise my bed due to reflux. Prior to that, for more than three decades there was no noticeable improvement in my head pain or its frequency. However, after raising the bed, I noticed a gradual reduction in both the head pain and the frequency.  Today, I rarely experience that awful, life blighting suffering that used to ocurr almost every day.

Reginald E Wilkins
Saratoga Springs
UT
United States 

Posted Date : 22-02-2018

Children with reflux

In Chile during the 70s  reknown pediatrician Dr. Isidoro  Horwitz started to use IBT to treat his reflux patients. My sister and I were 4 and 5 years old and we slept  like this for over 5 years without using any medication. Before meeting Dr. Horwitz our parents struggled just to keep us Alive. Today, we are both in our 50’s and enjoy great health.

Andrea Molinari
International School Nido de Aguilas
Santiago
Chile
Posted Date : 20-02-2018

IBT Helping in India

Video Testimonial from India: https://youtu.be/fDoj6datT7U

no

Francis Osho
India 

Posted Date : 21-01-2018

Osteoporosis, Suppurating scar, Sight improvements, Ear discharge on IBT

Ruby, 2nd April 98

Over two years ago I sat in the armchair reading a small advert which asked people to raise their bed by six inches at the head and to reply and tell what benefits had been noted. (No explanation was given)
At the time I could not move my neck to my left or right side and it ached continuously. I was unable to sleep at night as i could not get comfortable. I was only able to turn by gently easing myself. It took about three to four turns. Getting out of bed was a major obstacle. I needed help to dress and undress.

I spent most of my nights in the chair with the result that I was always tired and had no energy.

My problem is osteoporosis of the upper and lower spine. I had tried hormone replacement therapy and wasted a small fortune with bone specialists and osteopaths.

I was resigned to living my days out as best I could, having been told that there was nothing more that could be done for me.

I expected nothing but had nothing to lose, so Harry raised the bed by six inches. We did not take it very seriously but were happy to try anything.

On the fourth night I had the first full nights sleep since I don't remember when. By the end of the week I was sleeping naturally and turning over with ease. My dressing was a problem no longer, each day it became easier. I was able to turn my head without pain, right or left, to see the clock without getting up from my chair.

There have been many other benefits too. I have worn glasses from the age of seven years and I am now sixty eight years. Last year was the first time I was told that there was a small improvement.
My hair appears thicker, my hair brush needs cleaning less often.

Harry had a large suppurating scar since he was six years old. He has had to continually dressed it all of his life. But now it has healed up. His ear which constantly gave him trouble with a discharge has now cleared up completely.

We both feel that the clock has been put back for us! I give thanks for this invention and wish Andrew every success in the future for the benefits he has given us and will continue to do so.

Yours truly,

Ruby

 

This letter was sent to me in the knowledge that it would be used to help others to follow. Ruby to this day enjoys the continued benefits of this simple intervention.

Andrew

Ruby Tate
Dorset
United Kingdom 

Posted Date : 20-12-2017

sleep help

i thought i was doing alright, after all i had an arsenal of things to help me sleep including valerian, melatonin, sleep teas, raw milk, salt magnesium, ect. i was awaking at least 3 times per night to pee.  while i usually went back to sleep, it only takes a few nights of waking up for good at 3 am to become fatigued, stressed and cranky during the day.  after hearing your video with Clive De Carle, and it sounded ingenius what you figured out with the trees, i thought why not try it, so after the next non sleeping bout, i elevated it about 2 inches, cause that's all the scrap wood i could find immediately.  The first night was like BINGO.  The sleep was much deeper or richer, and  I maybe woke up to pee once if that.  So that was definitely convincing. Within two weeks I put in the remaing four inches.  The other 4 inches did not seem to make more of a difference, but it is noticable night after night to sleep so richly and deeply,  longer and waking less.  This has definitely helped with what could have been depression over consistent problems at my work.  After a weekend of good sleep, the mind can be cleared and softened from these stresses.  Thank you Andrew, I share this info with lots and am interested what it could do for one of my students suffering long term effects from drug injury. 

 

vicki fair
Conyers
GA
United States 

Posted Date : 19-12-2017

Puffy Eyes

Good morning.

I have been sleeping with my bed at a six-inch incline for about 5 days. I am loving the energy that I have. The last two mornings I have woke up with puffy eyes. Anybody else experience this?

Thank you!

Teri

Teri
Charlotte
NC
United States 

Posted Date : 04-12-2017