Arthritis testimonials

Arthritis / osteo-arthritis / rheumatoid-arthritis / Psoriatic-arthritis / arthritic joints

Rheumatoid Arthritis

I learned of IBT through the combination of words in a sales presentation of a bed salesperson.  I had never heard of inclined bed therapy, so when I heard the presentation I searched online for the meaning.  I was shocked to find that there was little to no information available through the medical community in the US.  As I continued my search I found you on YouTube and finally your website.

My wife had been treated for allergies at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, USA.  I immediately went to their website in hopes to find testing at their hospitals.  As you know, I found nothing.  They offer a tilted table test to try and diagnosis someone having fainting spells https://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/tilt-table-test/about/pac-20395124 but that is where it stops.  

My wife is not easily convinced to try new things, but after a little discussion and her arriving home from work to find our bed tilted, she agreed to try.  

On 6/22/2019, we started sleeping inclined.  After a few weeks she found that symptoms of her rheumatoid arthritis had improved dramatically.  She woke with little or no pain and was able to start her day without the aches and pains.  

We are close to 2 months into our test of sleeping inclined and we will never sleep flat again.  I wake clear-minded and free of the need to rush to the bathroom when waking.  I have audio recorded my entire night’s sleep to find that my snoring is now almost nonexistent.  My wife rarely uses the bathroom at night, where before she would need to go in the middle of most nights.  

Sadly, I feel I’m in the smallest group of believers.  I have 2 guest bedrooms in my home, one elevated and one flat.  When we have guests, I gently present how we sleep, discuss some of the first night improvements, share your website and offer the choice.  Do you want to try inclined sleep?  I’m 2 for 2 on visitors and have made believers of both.  

Jon Sampson
Vancouver
WA
United States

Posted Date : 19-08-2019

Fixing More Than Arthritis

Hello Andrew,

I'm a wholesale sales rep of iAdjust Sleep Products adjustable bases.  I'm not looking for an endorsement or trying to sell you anything.  I'm just excited about IBT and I've been sharing it with anyone who will listen.  I will tell you things about our brand and manufacturing that sounds like I'm looking for a sale but it's all just to connect the dots.  

About 4 months ago I was introduced to the phrase "Inclined Bed Therapy" by a sales rep that was using that phrase to sell his head-up position as a treatment for acid reflux.  As you already know, the head-up only position of a few inches is effective at lessening the severity of GERDS.  That sales rep didn't continue to discuss the 6" head lift to a flat bed, so I got curious.  I researched what turned out to be his random choice of words that led me to the video on YouTube where you are involved in a 2 hr long discussion about IBT.  

iAdjust Sleep Products has designed a full-feature adjustable base with a 10" vertical lift/tilt which will allow for up to 10 degrees of incline.  I set our display model at 5 degrees and used an iPhone app to measure the degree of incline.  I programed the 5 degree position in one of the available memory positions on the base's remote.   The best feature of this adjustable base is that it can be attached to a headboard/footboard and look like a regular flat bed by day and, with a push of a button, move to the 5 degree position.  My customers love this.  

As a side note, I had my best friend try the free version.  I gave him furniture risers and he ran home to get started.  After 2 weeks of use his low cost metal frame broke at the weld and damaged his wood floor.  He had to deal with it at 2 am. 

My wife and I "went inclined" on 6/22/19 and will never go back to a flat bed.  My wife suffers from rheumatoid arthritis which is a chronic inflammatory disorder that can affect more than just your joints. In some people, the condition can damage a wide variety of body systems, including the skin, eyes, lungs, heart and blood vessels.  She currently sees a therapist and has been prescribed medication to treat her condition.  Both Methotrexate and Humira have been medications she has used for years on and off.  Both medications have been eliminated from her treatment due to a liver condition.  Our current bed is a firm, memory foam mattress with a 3" organic shredded latex topper.  The latex alone has made miraculous improvements to her condition over 2 months sleeping flat due to the naturally cool temperature of latex plus no struggle to turn over in memory foam.  Once we "went inclined" a new world appeared.  She is now able to get out of bed in the morning without pain and without medication.  She is the happiest woman alive.  Oh, by the way, she hates change and went kicking and screaming into our first night of IBT.

Chronologically, starting after the first 2 nights we both experienced no trips to the bathroom in the middle of the night.  After 3 or 4 nights we both became very "regular" with our bowel movements.  Also, very comfortable movements that have remained that way since our beginning of IBT

A few more days passed and we noticed we were both sleeping more soundly.  In the past I would frequently wake at 2 am or 3 am and stare at the ceiling.  After converting to IBT, I still wake on occasion but will go back to sleep almost immediately.  Over the past 5 weeks I've had more that a dozen, undisturbed 8 hour nights sleep.  I've never slept so deeply in my life.  I'm 54 years old.  With IBT I feel like I'm 10 years younger.  I keep reminding myself that I'm less than 2 months into IBT.  My wife has experienced next to no night sweats and it has eliminated her hot flashes.

Fast forward into this past week.  Being in traveling sales, I get to enjoy hotel rooms with some frequency.  I spent a week in Las Vegas at the furniture market that ended on 8/1/19.  It all but completely reversed all the improvements I had enjoyed.  I was unable to sleep more than a few hours at a time, the return of aches and pains plus the return of visiting the bathroom in the middle of the night.  I need to figure out how to take this IBT on the road.  My wife came along for 2 nights and she experienced the same decline in "sleep healing".

My sister-in-law has been staying with us for the past month.  One week into her stay she asked if she could go inclined.  How could I say no.  I adjusted her bed using furniture risers.  Some of her conditions prior to IBT were GERDS and frequent night bathroom visits.  The severity of both have been decreased dramatically.  Bathroom visits reduced by 80% to 90% and almost unnoticeable acid reflux.  She is 67 years old and also enjoys the new, longer, deeper sleep.  She feels like her dreams are more vivid and colorful from the deeper REM sleep.  As a superbonus, she keeps her hair very short and it has become noticeable darker.

My sister-in-law is going home tomorrow to a flat bed.  She is one that has a bed that won't easily adapt to IBT with the use of risers or blocks.  She is replacing her mattress with an organic latex mattress and a motion base with tilt option.  

Until the rest of the world changes, thank you for changing mine for the better.

J Sampson
Vancouver
WA
United States

Posted Date : 03-08-2019

Heart, oedema, digestion, eyesight myopia improvements

My testimony
I am currently 59 years old and, about 9 years ago, I was looking for a solution to some annoying problems I had, which were gradually increasing and seemed to be connected:

constantly accelerated heart beat, accompanied by increasingly frequent and annoying extrasystoles;
extreme sensitivity to heat and ease of sweating;
night digestion problems, especially in the case of slightly heavier evening meals;
often swollen legs, especially during the summer season, accompanied by an increasingly marked presence of venous swellings.
To all this there were added other problems that still seemed unrelated and even less manageable:

myopia, which had made its appearance over the last few years and which, from light, was slowly becoming so accentuated as to force me to use glasses more and more frequently, which had become indispensable especially if I had to drive a car at night. In fact, at the visit for the renewal of the license - in 2008 - the doctor had told me that I was very close to the obligation of driving with eyeglasses;
presence of a growing number of "moving bodies" (small black dots, dark semi-transparent filaments), which floated within my field of vision, with greater accentuation for one of the 2 eyes; for this reason the ophthalmologist recommended me a timely monitoring, since it was treated of symptoms typically connected with the risk of retinal detachment and for which it is normal to foresee a non-positive evolution.
Although not yet suffering from overt pathologies there were therefore several non-positive signals and several unpleasant symptoms.

In the course of 2009 by pure chance, as often happens, by doing research on the Internet I happened to come across some references regarding a solution that could have had positive effects on night digestion and on some of the other problems listed above.

The suggestion was simple: try to sleep with a 5 ° inclined bed, raised on the side of the head.

In those days there wasn't much material about this brilliant solution, but what I happened to read convinced me.

I decided therefore to try, also considering the simplicity with which the solution could be adopted.

In a short time I found the following positive developments in a clear and evident way:

significant reduction in heart rate and disappearance of annoying extrasystoles;
substantial normalization of the exaggerated sensation of heat and ease of sweating;
clear reduction of night-time digestion problems, even in the case of non-light evening meals, with consequent and obvious improvement in sleep quality.
These are the improvements that I have obtained more quickly and clearly and that, I have had the opportunity to verify it, are also the first that tend to shrink if I find myself forced to sleep again on a bed that is not inclined for more than a few days.

In times a little longer, but still quite short, I also realized that, even during the hot season, I no longer suffered from swollen legs and that the condition of my veins was progressively improved as well.

Other important improvements, which occurred much more gradually and with much longer times, also concerned the problems I had in my eyes, related to myopia and the symptoms that characterize the risk of retinal detachment.

Currently I have almost completely recovered my view from afar and, in fact, even on the occasion of the visit for the renewal of the license (January 2018), the verification has given a completely positive outcome.

In addition, the quantity and thickness of the "moving bodies" that float in my field of vision have also been greatly reduced. The last eye examination has in fact found a normal situation.

These last improvements took place with such a slow and gradual progression that they were not even perceptible and, frankly, I had not the slightest connection with the fact that I had been sleeping for years on a sloping bed.

I only made this connection in recent times when, having found the time to do it in a complete way, I decided to go deeper into the subject of Inclined Bed Therapy and to work to spread the knowledge about it.

I am not exaggerating, therefore, if I say that this simple remedy has greatly improved my life and, in all probability, has avoided unpleasant pathological degeneration. In recent years I have made many friends and relatives participate in this simple and exceptional solution and, without fail, there have been some benefits that have often been truly remarkable.

https://www.lettoinclinato.it/testimonianze/

Letto Inclinato
Pisa
Italy

https://www.lettoinclinato.it Posted Date : 17-04-2019

WORKS WELL FOR MY HUSBAND AGE 70

NOTHING BUT PRAISE, I NEED TO DO MY KING SIZE AND MY SONS DOUBLE.

THANKS ANDREW FOR SHARING YOUR WONDERFUL DEEP LEARNING AND CREATIVE IDEA.  LINDA

Linda Weir - FacileForms
Posted Date : 04-10-2018

Best decision ever

Tilting the bed was one of the best decisions I've made in my (long) life.  At the age of 70 I have aches and pains, athritis and a few other physical issues.  Pain has been an every day companion but since I tilted the bed a couple of weeks ago the aches and pain has lessened a great deal and I sleep better than ever.  I expect it to get better when time passes.  If in two weeks I've made such progress what will happen after a few months!  Thank you so much Andrew - you ought to be recognized far wider than what has been happening until now!!!

Marga
Spain

Santa Gertrudis
Baleares
Spain

Posted Date : 11-09-2018

Osteoporosis, Suppurating scar, Sight improvements, Ear discharge on IBT

Ruby, 2nd April 98

Over two years ago I sat in the armchair reading a small advert which asked people to raise their bed by six inches at the head and to reply and tell what benefits had been noted. (No explanation was given)
At the time I could not move my neck to my left or right side and it ached continuously. I was unable to sleep at night as i could not get comfortable. I was only able to turn by gently easing myself. It took about three to four turns. Getting out of bed was a major obstacle. I needed help to dress and undress.

I spent most of my nights in the chair with the result that I was always tired and had no energy.

My problem is osteoporosis of the upper and lower spine. I had tried hormone replacement therapy and wasted a small fortune with bone specialists and osteopaths.

I was resigned to living my days out as best I could, having been told that there was nothing more that could be done for me.

I expected nothing but had nothing to lose, so Harry raised the bed by six inches. We did not take it very seriously but were happy to try anything.

On the fourth night I had the first full nights sleep since I don't remember when. By the end of the week I was sleeping naturally and turning over with ease. My dressing was a problem no longer, each day it became easier. I was able to turn my head without pain, right or left, to see the clock without getting up from my chair.

There have been many other benefits too. I have worn glasses from the age of seven years and I am now sixty eight years. Last year was the first time I was told that there was a small improvement.
My hair appears thicker, my hair brush needs cleaning less often.

Harry had a large suppurating scar since he was six years old. He has had to continually dressed it all of his life. But now it has healed up. His ear which constantly gave him trouble with a discharge has now cleared up completely.

We both feel that the clock has been put back for us! I give thanks for this invention and wish Andrew every success in the future for the benefits he has given us and will continue to do so.

Yours truly,

Ruby

 

This letter was sent to me in the knowledge that it would be used to help others to follow. Ruby to this day enjoys the continued benefits of this simple intervention.

Andrew

Ruby Tate
Dorset
United Kingdom

Posted Date : 20-12-2017

Aches Pains in Joints Soreness in lower back 1 night of IBT

October 3, 2014 @ 4:53 am Kimmy

One Radio Network ORN Listeners Write to Patrick about their experiences using Inclined Bed Therapy.

I listened to an earlier show, writes Kimmmy with Andrew Fletcher and his Inclined Bed Therapy
I slept well, but I began waking most mornings with aches and pains in the joints. Soreness in lower back and neck. This has been going on for some weeks, so I got my husband to set up the bed head on six inches blocks of wood from 27th June 2014. Immediately the next morning I woke up with no joint pain at all and from 28th June to this day I have not been troubled by any pain after sleeping in the inclined position and my husband is snoring less and not as noisily. Thanks to Andrew and Patrick.

https://oneradionetwork.com/health/andrew-k-fletcher-results-inclined-bed-therapy-follow-show-september-15

Kimmy
United States

Posted Date : 06-09-2017

Psoriatic arthritis using IBT

penny psoriatic arthritis womans realm ibtPenny Meredith Has Psoriatic Arthritis
Read her Reported Improvements From Using Inclined Bed Therapy (IBT) Feature in Woman's Realm Magazine March 3rd 1998
Keep Your Head Up

How angling your bed can improve your health
Three years ago, if anyone had suggested to Penny Meredith that something as simple as propping up the head of her bed could radically improve her quality of life, she wouldn't have believed them. However, today 54-year-old Penny is a firm believer in the practice. Penny, a divorcee from Paignton, Devon, with three grown-up children, has had psoriasis since the age of 18. When she was in her early 30s, she developed psoriatic arthropathy, a painful arthritic condition. 'As time progressed, the pain and stiffness grew worse,' remembers Penny, who runs a guest house. 'I took painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs which took the edge off the pain, but they upset my stomach, so I preferred to do without them if I could. Then, about eight years ago, my condition deteriorated considerably.
'I also work as an auxiliary nurse, which can be quite physical, and it got to the point where I was so stiff, I thought I'd have to give up. It was very depressing.' Then, in October 1995, a visitor to Penny's guest house told her about an inventor he'd met called Andrew Fletcher, who was achieving amazing improvements in people's health, just by raising the head of their beds a few
inches. Penny contacted him and asked him to visit.
He explained his theory by saying that, by lying flat, we're not making use of gravity -the force that powers our vital bodily functions. By raising the head of the bed six inches, so that the entire body is tilted, the circulation and the metabolic rate are speeded up and fluid flows naturally through the body. Andrew had conducted _____ experiments
involving about 300 people with various health problems, from varicose veins to multiple sclerosis. In almost every case, sleeping at an angle improved their symptoms.
'What Andrew was saying made sense to me,' says Penny. That night I propped the head of my bed up with two house bricks. Next day, I had no pain at all and was able to move normally for the first time in years.'
Penny continues to be pain-free and mobile, and is so impressed by what angled sleep has done for her that she's bought an angled bed, made by Oasis Concepts.
'I won't risk going back to the way I was,' she says. 'In fact, if I stay at someone else's house I prop up the head of my bed with books or phone directories - anything to get that tilt!'  Penny is now pain free.

Penny Meredith
Paignton
Devon
United Kingdom

Posted Date : 30-08-2017

Degenerated Hip and Back Arthritis


    I ORGINALLY ASKED GOD FOR HELP BECAUSE OF PAIN FROM MY DEGENERATED HIP AND BACK, I HAD TO SIT ON BOARD ON CAR SEAT WITH PILLOW ON TOP + BOARD ON MY BACK WITH PILLOW AGAINST THIS BOARD. I ALSO HAD TO GET OUT OF OUR CAR EVERY HOUR TO GET SOME RELIEF. MY DAUGHTER PUT OUR NEXUS MAGAZINE NEXT TO ME TO READ, RIGHT AFTER ABOUT 2 HOURS OF PRAYER AND MEDITATION, { I WAS IN TEARS AT THIS TIME }. I OPENED THIS MAY - APRIL, 2016 NEXUS, ON PAGE 17 I SAW INCLINED BED THERAPY. I COULD NOT FIND ANYWERE THAT FLETCHER WAS MAKING MONEY OFF THIS, SO I BUILT THIS INCLINED BED RIGHT AWAY. MY DAUGHTER WAITED 2 WEEKS BECAUSE I HAVE TRIED SO MANY THINGS OVER 3 YEARS TO GET HELP, BUT NOTHING WORKED. I AM 77 YEARS OLD AND FIRST NIGHT WITHIN 20 MINUTES MY PAIN WAS GONE.  


    AFTER 2 TO 3 MONTHS I CAN SIT IN OUR CAR SEAT WITHOUT PAIN, NOW IT IS OVER 6 MONTHS AND I AM BETTER THAT I HAVE BEEN IN OVER 10 YEARS.
    MY DAUGHTER STARTED USING THIS INCLINED 2 WEEKS LATER SINCE SHE SAW SO MUCH IMPROVEMENT, IN SUCH SHORT TIME. 
    HOPE YOU HAVE SIMULAR RESULTS.
                                    HERMAN G. MEINKE 
                                     JANUARY 11, 2017

HERMAN G. MEINKE
United States

Farmington, MI 48336
MI 48336
United States

http://www.treehouseforearthschildren.com/wellness-programs Posted Date : 02-08-2017

Osteoarthritis, back and hip pains

I love Inclined Bed Therapy too. I started doing it January 1st and besides sleeping great each night I notice my dreams are more vivid and memorable which could also mean my brain is having an easier time restoring itself due to gravity and blood flow. Maybe that might help prevent Alzheimers in the long run.I used to wake up on a flat bed with shoulder, back and hip pains, but those have been steadily diminishing, and at this rate I think I just may regain my ability to run again. This experience suggests that it could help so many with back and osteo-arthritic problems, and certainly Dr. Mercola should do an article on it. We know too much sitting is bad and sleep is good, but sleeping flat and then waking up feeling pained and cramped in your joints is bad too, and I am happy I stumbled upon this better way.

The mattress industry just wants to sell you a new $2,000 mattress each year, but all you really need is two bed raisers, or books to raise your bed about five or six inches. I think the pull of gravity when sleeping on an incline also keeps the bowels from stagnating, and blood circulation flowing freely to every cell of the body. In short, Inclined Bed Therapy is probably the most important thing I have I have learned in probably my whole life, and I think it could help many people, and cure many problems that people have, and make their nights restful and restorative too, and I thank you for your post, and hope Dr. Mercola writes some articles on it in the future.

Source: Link to comments on Dr Mercola's site
Posted On 5/28/2016 7:33:08 AM

 

Jeffry Bowers
Posted Date : 05-09-2016

Arthritis and age related health

Hello,
You may remember meeting us last September in Brixham. You commented on the discolouration of her ankles. At the same time I was suffering badly with my right hip and had great difficulty getting in and out of my car/bed/ walking due to pain.
We raised our bed as recommended and since then I have found a massive improvement in walking etc. I still get some pain at times but I am much more mobile. My wife's ankles are improved but still a bit blotchy.
We will continue to keep the bed raised and hope for continued improvement.I feel reasonably fit but expect some discomfort at nearly 80 years old.
Thank you for your advice.
Anne and Peter

Anne and Peter
United Kingdom

Posted Date : 28-02-2016